Create a virtual machine

In this task, you’ll create a virtual machine using the Azure portal.

  1. Sign in to the Azure portal.
  2. Select Create a resource > Compute > Virtual Machine > Create.
  3. The Create a virtual machine pane opens to the basics tab.
  4. Verify or enter the following values for each setting. If a setting isn’t specified, leave the default value.Basics tabExpand tableSettingValueSubscriptionConcierge SubscriptionResource groupSelect the resource group name that begins with learn.Virtual machine namemy-VMRegionLeave defaultAvailability optionsLeave defaultSecurity typeLeave defaultImageLeave defaultVM architectureLeave defaultRun with Azure Spot discountUncheckedSizeLeave defaultAuthentication typePasswordUsernameazureuserPasswordEnter a custom passwordConfirm passwordReenter the custom passwordPublic inbound portsNone
  5. Select Review and Create.

 Important

Product details will include a cost associated with creating the virtual machine. This is a system function. If you’re creating the VM in the Learn sandbox, you won’t actually incur any costs.

  1. Select Create

Wait while the VM is provisioned. Deployment is in progress will change to Deployment is complete when the VM is ready.

Verify resources created

Once the deployment is created, you can verify that Azure created not only a VM, but all of the associated resources the VM needs.

  1. Select Home
  2. Select Resource groups

Select the [sandbox resource group name] resource group

You should see a list of resources in the resource group. The storage account and virtual network are associated with the Learn sandbox. However, the rest of the resources were created when you created the virtual machine. By default, Azure gave them all a similar name to help with association and grouped them in the same resource group.

Congratulations! You’ve created a resource in Azure and had a chance to see how resources get grouped on creation.

Clean up

The sandbox automatically cleans up your resources when you’re finished with this module.

When you’re working in your own subscription, it’s a good idea at the end of a project to identify whether you still need the resources you created. Resources that you leave running can cost you money. You can delete resources individually or delete the resource group to delete the entire set of resources.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *